J. S. Bach
Suite in B Minor
(BWV 1067)
for Flute and Strings

Johann Sebastian Bach, composer, violinist and keyboard virtuoso, was born on March 21,1685 in Eisenach, Germany and died on July 28, 1750 in Leipzig, Germany. Today, he is probably the most famous composer of the Baroque Period in music (1600-1750) and definitely represents the culmination of Baroque style. He is best known for his composition for keyboard, especially organ, and, because he was employed as a church musician, his religious works: the Mass in B Minor and Saint Matthew Passion are perennial favorites at Christmas and Easter, respectively.

Surprisingly, Bach wrote less than a dozen orchestral works, including no symphonies - mainly because the symphony had not yet been “invented”, or more correctly, it had not yet evolved, at least for him. The Symphony developed from the Orchestral Suite, which in turn, developed from the Dance Suite - collections of shorter dance pieces. Bach wrote 4 Orchestral Suites and they could be considered his version of the symphony.

The first two Suites were written between 1717 and 1723, while he was conductor of the court orchestra in Cöthen; the third and fourth Suites were written between 1729 and 1736 while he was in Leipzig. The instrumentation of each Suite is different: Suite No. 1 in C Major uses 2 Oboes, Bassoon and Strings; Suite No. 2 in B Minor is for Flute and Strings; Suite No. 3 in D Major employs 2 Oboes, 3 Trumpets, Timpani and Strings; and Suite No. 4 in D Major, 3 Oboes, Bassoon, 3 Trumpets, Timpani and Strings.

All of the Suites use continuo (usually Harpsichord and Cello) and are made up of six or seven movements (using the terminology of the symphony). Each of the Suites opens with an Overture (the actual name by which Bach himself referred to the Suites) written in the French style: slow introduction (using dotted rhythms) followed by a faster, more lively (and contrapuntal) main section, concluding with a slow section, alluding to the opening. The Overture, which in all of the Suites is, by far, the longest movement, is then followed by shorter “dance” movements (i.e., movements using the structure and style of various dances - Sarabande, Polonaise, Minuet, etc.).


Suite No. 2 in B Minor is often referred to as a Concerto for the Flute; however, it is not a real Concerto any more than the other Suites are real Symphonies. Bach did write concertos - both in the Baroque Concerto Grosso style (such as with his Brandenburg Concertos) and in the Solo Concerto style (such as with his Harpsichord or Violin Concertos); however, the Suite in B Minor is a suite, which happens to employ the flute, and occasionally feature it. The tutti sections, therefore, are not optional, as is often the case with a Solo Concerto, but are necessary to create the proper orchestral texture.

Solo Flute part - 9”X12” - 16 pages - $14.95
with CD - 8 smp files:
- No. 1 - Overture (4/4, Grave, eighth = 88; 2/2, Allegro, half = 88; 3/4, Lentement, eighth = 88)
- No. 2 - Rondeau (2/2, Allegro, half = 72)
- No. 3 - Sarabande (3/4, Andante, quarter = 76)
- No. 4 - Bourrees (2/2, Allegro, half = 88)
- No. 5 - Polonaise & Double (3/4, Allegretto, eighth = 96)
- No. 6 - Menuet (3/4, Allegretto, quarter = 104)
- No. 7 - Badinerie (2/4, Vivace, quarter = 108)
- Complete (All 7 movement)

Please note that this is NOT an AUDIO CD
and an active SmartMusic subscription is needed to play smp files

Back to Flute Solos with SmartMusic Accompaniment